title

2003-02-18
4:08 p.m.

I was flipping through the channels last night and saw a video on CMT. I don't normally watch CMT because I really don't like modern country music, but the channel rests between the Food Network and Comedy Central, the two networks that I watch when vegging in front of the idiot box.

What made me stop? Johnny Cash. I've always admired Cash for his powerful vocals and honest writing style, plus his sociopolitical stance in the music business. No one can communicate so well through music. This video is full of religious imagery and carried somewhat of a dark theme in the cinematography. I crank the volume and have a listen.

Turns out, old Johnny is covering Nine Inch Nails' Hurt. I swear to god. Now, I used to like NIN pretty well. Trent lost me somewhere around Downward Spiral but I still kept my ears open. I never would have thought in a million years that Cash would cover Reznor, but he did, and with so much style.

Now, it will get popular and become bastardized, just like everything else.

My favorite will be the pasty-faced gothies who will wrap their tiny brains around this song and worship it like Marilyn Manson. Many of them claim that Cash was the first "goth". I think that it's pretty much an undisputed fact that the first Goths were tribes of barbarians inhabiting what is now Western Europe that contested the reign of the Roman Empire, but if they insist on using the name to describe themselves, Johnny Cash is definitely not one. If he was a "goth" none of them would be.

But I digress...

Check out the video, it does rock.


Previous | Next


Latest Entries

Whisky Tango Foxtrot - 2005-09-12
Happiness - 2005-08-19
Stray Kitten - 2005-07-12
Making booze - 2005-07-08
Konnichiwa bitches! - 2005-07-07


All here is the intellectual property of their respective owners.
copyright Ben Noble 2001 - 05.
Hosted by Diaryland.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
NotifyList.com